Hey there

Well its late and I am tired. Bedtime soon. Life is pretty good. Been musing of late, a little melancoly but nada serious. My social life is slow but the way I want it. Been having fun now and then, working a lot, reading and studying, watching NUFC surprisingly beat Fenerbahce. Can’t wait for London though to see people. And I’ve gotta start making plans for my trips but I need to sit down and talk it through with some mates which is what I am lacking at the mo. Guys like LP, Dr Luke, AC, Scotty, Steve etc. I’ve got ideas which are pushing me in directions but I need a start off point, a moment of clarity, a push off wall, starter gun. When I went travelling last year again, it was partly on the advice of Scotto who told me I had time and not to worry about my murky thoughts. He was right and damn, that was a trip. The days, weeks and months are moving on here relentessly, money is being earned but the value is empty. I don’t really care about money. I guess because I haven’t a clear aim or anything bar Lonestar to think about.

Anyway…remember that crazy Japanese girl Keiko (if you don’t, click here). As a group, a lot of mates emailed her to see if she was for real. Well I got an answer back from her. I know quite a few who emailed her. I asked her why she liked white guys and her reply was;

They are better doing sex. Are you????? ^_^

What a classic. There was much speculation that she might be a fake but I don’t think so. I can, and other friends can, attest to the stalkerish obsessions of Japanese girls, made even less comprehensible by the cultural and language barriers that exist in Japan.

I’ve made my grand plans for until I leave the UK.

–> Finish my Japanese textbook
–> Finish Crime and Punishment, Ulysses, and Gravity’s Rainbow. Three great books I’ve started but never finished for many reasons.
–> Keep exercising. I feel much better at the moment.
–> Keep the mind active with worthy activity. It make me appear grumpy when I don’t get involved in the office gossip but I just don’t care enough.

I heard a story today from a guy I work with. He lives next to a pub and the other night, around closing time, sat in his living room, he heard a couple leaving the bar and grumbling to each other. The man suddenly, held the women against his window by her neck and said,

“You bore me to tears. Bore bore, bore, bore.”

Is that what life for some or many comes to? Another girl at work told me her life had barely started when she got pregnant. I’d feel despairing and get involved but I fear there are too many with the same story. For many life’s happiness hangs like a thread, the inter-dependency in life partnerships can provide great rewarding and potentially devastating. I’ve seen it my own family. Thinking you were going to get old with someone, for it all to fall apart. Havign the sadness of growing old alone. Then again, i have seen with my own parents the love they have for each other.

I am nearly finished Don DeLillo’s excellent White Noise. A couple love each other deeply but both fear the other dying before them, wondering if and how they could go on. It’s a scary thought which all of us must face sometime. Once the thought is unleashed, where can you go from there. Can you ever avoid it? Maybe I shouldn’t ask but I want to know what people feel about it.

Just flicked on a serious, sombre arts show on the BBC, reviewing Sean Penn’s new fim All the King’s Men. The presenter turns to the first artist to ask his opinion of the film and it’s a dude in a dress. Cool. Funny stuff.

Have a good weekend.

Take care

dan

Leave a Reply

