>Perfume – The Story of a Murderer

>I took the folks to the cinema last night, for a film I knew Dad would find interesting and Mum would find unusual.

When the bus broke down in Southern Bolivia over 3 years ago, I started talking to an Indian dentist while eyeing up the South African girl. He was dressed in a swami and was slightly pretentious but we started talking books. He recommended Parfum by Patrick Suskind. I borrowed it from the library, swallowed it in two days and searched for other books but found nothing. So when they made this film and my mate Matt scored it as the best film he’d ever seen, I booked up the tickets early.

Its the story of Jean-Bapiste, an orphan who develops a love of smells which becomes his obsession and he uses his sensitive nose to evade justice as he kills to make his perfect perfume, the fragrance that will make people love him.

I won’t say anymore except to say, it’s very worth watching.

Leave a Reply

