As I rode home two days ago, I passed a girl walking on the pavement and thought I heard her crying. I stopped and asked if she was ok. Tears were streaming down her face. The answer was obvious. To get a truer answer sometime you have to let someone know they aren’t alone. So I told her about my week. The worst of my life. I made it humourous and modestly pointed out my failed perspective. She laughed regularly. For there is much to laugh at in my ‘dilemmas!’

So we walked for a mile or so first with me talking about my problems and then I asked her about hers. Aged 19 and unemployed, having left college and taken too many drugs, everything was shit she said. It was ironic for me to try to gently coax perspective into her. After all, she is only 19 and there is much to gather, much to assimilate and learn. I just pointed out that all is not lost and don’t let anyone tell her so.

We parted when she met her friend and I got back on my bike and cycled the few hundred metres to my lovely flat. Pleased to have possibly understood and hopefully helped. Its all I can do.

Leave a Reply

