How did it happen… :)

As I am at University again and am noticing differences between this experience and my under-graduate one, I can reflect too on the extraordinary communicational changes over these years. For the first 2 years of university, I had no mobile phone. Only one person I knew there did and that was Duncan. He needed it apparently but he also had the money to ‘need’ it. Maz, my uni girlfriend didn’t have a phone either and so I wondered how we kept in contact. Patience has never been a virtue of mine so how did I handle this lack of communication opportunities. And as I thought I realised I couldn’t actually remember how we stayed in contact. The fact that I couldn’t remember must imply to a degree that it wasn’t such an issue. Patience was maintained. But I still needed to ask her.

Her reply was as follows…

“That’s so funny. I can’t remember either. I think we called each other from the house phone in the evenings and arranged to meet up now and then during the day in the bars or cafes. It was more exciting maybe. The thrill of a chance meeting. Would I see him today? Sometimes we’d hang out in strategic positions to maybe get the chance to see each other. It was better that way”

Living in an age of immediate communication, no one is unavailable. It develops dependencies that previously we didn’t have. Its near impossible to avoid questions unless you hike to the peak of that mountain in Kazakhstan. I guess as humans we get used to what we have. I certainly know as well that when I don’t have a phone or the internet, I soon enough don’t miss it. And simply find other things to do. That’s what I need to do now. Time to focus on work, play and developing my say.

Leave a Reply

