How Reg Lost his Arm

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m sitting on the red-eye from New York back to Europe. The beautiful Singaporean stewardess is serving me reasonable pinot and the food was Thai curry. The plane is a superjumbo and for the first time in months I have the opportunity and inclination to write. As everyone sleeps and we chase to morning in Europe, I’m evaluating the last few months, content and nostalgic. My headphones encases music that links me to everyone I know or have known.

From Colombia starting and finishing with Gab and first and last weekends with Claudia to seeing old friends in almost surreal circumstances in Canada and the USA. I am forever grateful. The faces I saw particularly in Canada will stay with me forever. For the most recent I had seen any of them was 6 years ago. Bobbi who met me at the airport in Winnipeg I hadn’t seen for a few months under 10 years. Christine over 6 years. Ronnie and Debs the same. Ashley 7 years. And yet we slipped back in there like old times, rarely suffering an undeserved silence. In fact, all now had kids, were married and had a more moderated lifestyle and they all impressed me more. I will write more about Canada and the people there in another blog. Being well-fed was indeed heart-warming even if I do need to shed a few pounds this summer.

The USA was a more hectic time, staying in Greenwich Village, the most central and celebrated spot in Manhattan. I don’t know what Steve and Lucy pay for this ground floor flat but it must be small fortunes a month. I caught Rocky and Dave Gordon in Philly, Beau in Jersey, Ola in Midtown, two nights with Steve and one to be explained.

Last time in NYC was almost free thanks to some dodgy Russian and the American Red Cross. This time I enjoyed it more spending days wandering the streets and taking in the life of the greatest city in the world (sorry Pedro!). New York treated me to excellent weather but the sunshine is forever present in the vibrancy of the noise.

Colombia will get many blogs in the weeks to come concerning the people, culture and places. Its a beautiful spot, one I’ve wanted to visit for a long time and it didn’t let me down. So now I am heading to Germany to see more friends and sights in Frankfurt, with Em in the mountains and then back to the Balkans and maybe a few nearby places like the Ukraine etc

So that’s how Reg my memory stick monkey lost his arm. Travelling and savouring the sights and nights of friends reunited and friendship renewed. We did well. And are lucky even if Reg lost an arm in sacrifice. He knows though it was worth it. He’s still smiling.

Leave a Reply

