The National Are Back

image

I am listening to the latest album ‘Trouble Will Find Me’ as I type this. Pink Rabbits is playing right now, a typical mournful and beautiful ballad concerning unexplained love. Berninger’s voice is higher, more muted and restrained. Without the cover notes, I’d guess it wasn’t Berninger singing. But lyrics as below inform you.

So surprised you wanna dance with me now.
I was just getting used to living like that without you around.
So surprised you wanna dance with me now.
I was always said I held way too far off the ground.

You didn’t see me, I was falling apart.
I was a white girl in a crowd of white girls in the park.
You didn’t see, I was falling apart.
I was a television version of a person with a broken heart.

I can’t remember too much of the start of the album right now. I’ll listen to it through again. The National’s albums always end well. But it also take time to unravel the wordplay and stories. The album has the usual complex, driving drumming and more piano accompaniment this time. Its less forced and lovelier.
Next Vampire Weekend’s new album

Leave a Reply

